ad
 

Tutor Doctor Franchise Review

44 of 49 Tutor Doctor reviews

Update added by user Dec 23, 2013

If you are thinking about buying a Tutor Doctor Franchise think again! This is very poorly run Franchise with Incompetent Management Team.Before you buy you need contact as many franchisees as possible, Tutor Doctor will send you list of the Top performing Franchisees only, this is miss selling the Franchise.

At the moment there are a lot of very unhappy Tutor Doctor Franchisees in the UK,hopefully this complained will save someone a lot of money and stop them making a big mistake by buy into this scam.

review from another us website "stop" and read

http://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/Tutor-Doctor-Reviews-E343816.htm

Original review posted by user Dec 21, 2013

If you are thing about buying a Tutor Doctor Franchise think again! This is very poorly run Franchise with Incompetent Management Team.Before you buy you need contact as many franchisees as possible, Tutor Doctor will send you list of the Top performing Franchisees only, this is miss selling the Franchise.

At the moment there are a lot of very unhappy Tutor Doctor Franchisees in the UK,hopefully this complained will save someone a lot of money and stop them making a big mistake by buy into this scam.

review from another us website "stop" and read

http://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/Tutor-Doctor-Reviews-E343816.htm

This review is a subjective opinion of a user.
Report Comment

More Review Details

Monetary loss:
$32
Product or service
Tutor Doctor
Review category
Education
review #465636 by
Had an experience with Tutor Doctor? Submit review ›
ad
Helpful? 5 Yes 5 1 No 1
Had the same issue 1 Yes 1
44 of 49 Tutor Doctor reviews
Comment as anonymous As anonymous or Log in
Liam Mccmurry

Jul 06, 2014 #836627 London, Ontario, Canada

Tutor Doctor should just stop franchising. The tutoring market is unregulated and out of control. Every two to three weeks another Joe Bloe opens up a tutoring business. About 5 years ago the market was much better. But know it is just unbelievable. Which means if you are purchasing a franchise like Tutor Doctor with a restricted territory you are in for an immediate loss of money! , YOU MIGHT AS WELL JUST DONATE THAT FRANCHISE FEE TO YOUR LOCAL CHURCH INSTEAD. You may lose the money but at least it does not fill the pockets of what I know call a ponze scheme. I also heard that they do not regulate other franchisee invading your territory or turf for extra customers. The just simply ask you to buy more territory. This is not a game of risk or a war. This is some peoples life savings.

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Jul 06, 2014 #836465

Another UK franchise closes down. Official Graham Murrey forced to close down his tutor doctor Buisness. Another example of a nice guy duped by Tutor Doctor and losses money.

0 0 Reply
ad
UK super star

May 29, 2014 #821372

Wow Daniel Makk, you are very pist with your unsuccessful and incompetent life. Just try to get a life and leave these guys alone. You did not even want to receive any support and are complaining? What a loser. Just let us work to us, franchisees that actually put the effort and do our work. You are cry baby that has nothing else to do. Leave us alone.

0 0 Reply
Another loser

Jun 01, 2014 #822516

I had the same problems with tutor doctor. Am I a loser?
It's amazing the lengths you *** artists will go to!

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Jun 05, 2014 #824201

UK Superstar could you responsibly respond to the other posts here and provide me with some confidence to want to purchase one of these franchisees. Like others we were thinking about it but I cannot find anything on this website that is giving us confidence that the accusations are untrue.

1 0 Reply
Anonymous

Jun 08, 2014 #825175 London, England, United Kingdom

I defy and challenge you to openly come out in the UK and say how your company operates. Produce your accounts, branding fees statement, taxes you are paying in UK ( you know nothing is being paid despite you taking thousands out of UK each month), how many UK franchisees have left you in the past 5 years, and how you are getting kick-backs from your suppliers. We know all this....so you should also come out with it. If you do not, rest assured it will be out in public very soon.... and you will have nowhere to hide....

0 0 Reply
Mihir

Apr 24, 2014 #808569 London, London, United Kingdom

If Tim Morris knows so much about business why is he working for these sheisters?
Answer: He knows nothing about business - he is just the only person they could find with low enough moral standards that are compatible with theirs
He is supposed to be a field support agent? HAHAHAHA very funny, I think "Glorified Salesman" is a more fitting title. He is there for one purpose and one purpose only - to drive up sales to approved vendors (from whom Tutor Doctor are paid commission) from franchisees who are already being fleeced by head office.
Tim Morris is also very keen to get new franchisees to buy wrapped cars - the reason for this is that the guy who does the car wrap is Tims mate and Tim gets paid a referral if they do buy a wrapped car. Even when I started - he knew I was about to be bankrupted by this business but he continued to press and press me into further financial peril just so he could get his cut.
He has no morals and no concience - S C U M B A G

0 0 Reply
Mrank Filner

Apr 24, 2014 #808511

They totally mis sell the franchise. Their operating system "The Big Apple" aka "The Big Joke" is a stone age, low budget, unreliable and non functional mess. If you're a UK franchisee you can't even use it to invoice a client because it doesn't have the £ symbol - but that is just the tip of the iceberg.
Of all of the UK Tutor Doctor franchises only 2 or 3 are actually friendly towards head office, the rest are either involved in legal battles with them or trying to make a clean brake away from them. The loyal 2 or 3 are used by head office on what are called "validation calls". These calls are a mandatory part of the sale process in which you speak to a few franchisees from the network who they pick "at random" to "validate" you and assess your suitability to the franchise. In reality, they couldn't give a monkeys how suitable you are - all they care about is fleecing you. The "validation calls" are sales pitches from a select few existing franchisees (on retainers) who basically support Tutor Doctors lies and tell you how great and rosy it is - it's a ploy designed to reinforce their credibility and legitimacy as a franchise - DON'T BE FOOLED!
At a minimum of £29,700 these franchises are grossly over priced and based on false info. The franchisor offers next to no support once you've paid but are still happy to take 10%+ out of your earnings in exchange. When trying to sell you the franchise they claim for example that you get access to a state of the art e-tutoring
... Show more

0 0 Reply
Danny Boy

Apr 24, 2014 #808510

If you're thinking of investing in this franchise please please please run and don't look back.
This company is the *** of the earth. They completely mis sell the business and once you put your money down they'll offer you nothing - however, they'll happily continue to take 10% of your hard earned cash with a strong sense of entitlement.
The business itself is messy and they'll lie through their teeth to get you on board. In the UK there is a pending class action against them. They are tax dodging *** who are based in the Bahamas NOT Canada.
Please, if you're reading this - don't ruin your life with these *** BAGS

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Apr 18, 2014 #806423

We were also going to buy one of these Franchisees and just found out that although they sell you what you think is a protected territory, that this is not the case. Not only is it lawful under European Laws, there are also no measures in place to stop other franchisees from doing business in your so-called protected territory that you pay nearly 30K for. Think about it £30K for poor management systems, no real Education knowledge and no real protected rights for your business and financial investment. All I can say is really do carry out a due diligence and f you do you may want to think again hard about handing over your hard-earned cash.

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Mar 25, 2014 #798626

The fact is that more franchisees are having to pay out for legal fees to exit this business a year, compared to the number that are joining.
To earn £70,000 plus after 2 to 3 years is complete nonsense.
We were going to buy one of these business but from digging deeper and speaking to business owners that Tutor Doctor do not provide as people to contact, we found that the buying of this business is very manipulated in order that they can take your money and not provide anything that they promise.

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Jan 14, 2014 #773322

As a UK franchisee, my advice to anyone that is thinking of buying one of these business is to defiantly contact other UK franchisees that are not recommended by Tutor Doctor. The franchise details that they provide are top performers only (and there are only a couple in the whole network). You need to get a honest advice from the people that are in the same position that you may well be in. The geographic area that you build your business in is a very important factor. Most of your marketing is done through PPC. If you are within a 10 ,mile radius of another franchisee then you just end up being in competition with them you drive up your PPC cost through internet marketing. They do not tell you this in the small print when they are just out on a mission to sell the territories that do not work unless you have a clear 10 mile radius to work from and ideally covering a city.
Think carefully, this is not a cheap business to set up or a cheap business to run.

0 0 Reply
anonymous

Feb 07, 2014 #782998 Leeds, England, United Kingdom

We were going to buy one of these franchisees. WE were told that after three years we could expect to have between 50K to 100K profit. We have now found out that this is complete nonsense. Many have now left and had to go back into full time employment as they could not survive on the minimal return that the business give you.

0 0 Reply
Anonymous

Feb 10, 2014 #783750

We have since discovered that this business is a pyramid scheme. The territory set up is flawed and does not work unless you continue to buy territories at £39K each, which only stacks up money to the franchisor and not the franchisee.

0 1 Reply
Great comment! Would you like to convert it into review?

You will be able to edit the text before publishing.

You May Also Like

× You are about to contact PissedConsumer.com

Review submitted through "Contact Us" will not get published on the site or forwarded to Tutor Doctor. However, many companies do monitor reviews on our site.

 
×
You were reading a complaint about Tutor Doctor.
Filing a new complaint about
×